Join LCT President Don Maciver and trustee Fran Meyers for a walk in New England Forestry Foundation’s Prouty Woods.
Parking is available at the NEFF Barn at the end of Wilderness Road and behind NEFF headquarters on the driveway to the right near across from the barn.
Prouty Woods is a unique and significant tract of woodland within minutes of Route 495. The property includes 1600 feet of frontage on Long Lake and the top of Wilderness Hill with expansive views to the west and north including Mount Monadnock. The combination of forest, hay fields and riparian zones provide much-needed habitat for a variety of species. The forest has been under professional forest management for many years. Walking trails maintained by Stewards of the Littleton Conservation Trust (LCT) connect to a one-mile trail called the Two Brothers trail that extends to Conant Park. The main house serves as the headquarters for the New England Forestry Foundation (NEFF). The Wilderness House (King Center) situated on top of Wilderness Hill hosts educational programs that promote an understanding of forestry and the natural world.
There is no fee and no pre-registration is required. Hiking shoes or other footwear with good traction are recommended. In the event of rain, the hike will be rescheduled.
For questions about this hike, contact us online: https://littletonconservationtrust.org/contact-us/